How to Make Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle Cake Pops

The kitchen has been pretty busy this week.  First with the Hello Kitty cake pops, and then the TMNT (Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles) pops this weekend.  It was fun.  It brought me back to when my brother and I used to play with the action figures (we even had Michelangelo’s Pizza Thrower!!!).  I really don’t know if the Turtles today are the same ones that I grew up with, but the pops that I went for were those ones.  I also used this as an opportunity to use a birthday gift that I received from my brother and his wife: this cake pop pan.

Cake Pop Pan

After washing it, and spraying it with a non-stick spray, I began filling the cups with cake batter.

Batter

And then I locked the lid in place.

Cake pop pan

And cooked the pops for about 12 minutes, maybe 1 or 2 minutes more.  The packaging said that they would be uniform, but that I may need to snip off a ridge with a pair of scissors.  They did not turn out perfectly round.  I decided to leave the ridge, and incorporate that as the bandana (bad decision.  Will definitely cut it off next time.).

Cake pops

I think that they’d make great aliens… but definitely not uniformly round.  Anyway, the next thing to do, it to paint on a stripe around the head… make some orange (Michelangelo), red (Raphael), blue (Leonardo), and purple (Donatello).  I used a toothpick.

Ninja Turtle Cake Pops

After painting the stripe around, I made little ties for their bandanas.

Ninja Turtle Cake Pops

Next, using some white chocolate, add some eyes (again, I used a toothpick for painting).

IMG_6908

Finally, using chocolate (I didn’t have black… I’m not sure it’s available around here) and a toothpick, I added pupils and a smile.

IMG_6909

Your friendly Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles are all set to party!!!

IMG_6910

Finally… after singing “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, heroes in a half shell, turtle power!” all morning, and snapping pictures, my little kitchen helper was saying “me, too, Mommy, me too!”  So he got to sample one… and get his picture taken.

Kitchen Helper

17 thoughts on “How to Make Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle Cake Pops

    • I always have some of the candy melts in various colours kicking around. It takes about 3-4 candy melts to do 6 ninja turtles. You could use food colouring to dye the white chocolate, but I haven’t been successful in that regard. It always makes the chocolate clumpy for me, so I use the candy melts that are already coloured. Thanks for your question!

  1. This is such a great idea, just wondering what you use to make them green? Are they colored green before you cook them?
    Thanks

    • It’s the pan that I used. I’m not using it again because it makes them all have a weird shape. But thanks for your constructive criticism. If you get a chance to make them youself, link it back here so I can see what you’ve done differently so I can try it to make mine better.

      • First off Marly they are adorable! I dont understand why ppl leave rude comments. There isnt a point to it. It isn’t as if they bought them from you and were dissatisfied. My kids would love this and so would everyone else comming to a party. You are creavtive and I’m sure any children in your life have so much fun with things you come up with. Please dont stop doing these things and keep posting them too. Very cute ideas! Thank you! When I do partys I do lots of extras and sometimes someone will comment on how it would be better if I did this or that, it is usaully the mom that does last min cake and ice cream every year with no real plan or any thought put into the party at all. I have a cake pop machine and its time consuming but the shape comes out a little better then the pans. Again thank you so much!

  2. i agree, great idea, great job. Check out this website for making the cake pops a different way.
    What do you use/where do you get the thing to hold up the cake pops??

    • I used the coloured melting wafers. Our local bulk food store sells them, but Wilton also has many different colours. I’ve never tried dying them. I find them to be kind of finicky, and it’s just not something that I’ve tried.

Leave a Reply

