I’ve got a blog

Whew.

Anticipation.  Nervousness?

I’m not sure.  But it almost seems like this should be great, as it is my first blog post.

Whatever, let’s let the picture speak for itself.  Last fall I was commissioned to make a cake for our local market, and this is what I came up with.

In the fall of 2011, I was commissioned to make this cake for our local market.

I got my inspiration from the book ‘Hello Cupcake’.  The bottom layer of the cake is mini white cupcakes covered with a simple buttercream frosting.  The ‘garden’ cupcakes are coated with Oreo crumbs, and then I used different candies to create the vegetables.  The carrots were Starbursts, the radishes were Airheads, and the peas were made from Airheads and Smarties.  The lettuce was a green Smartie surrounded by cornflakes tossed with green icing.  I’m posting this now because the market is reopening in two weeks time, and I’m making the cake for the opening.  Stay tuned for the creation!

Oh, and welcome to my blog!

Leave a Reply

