Clay Rose Earrings

I’ve been having so much fun with clay lately.  I will definitely be posting some more pictures once I’ve finished all the treats that I’ve been making this week.

It was Christmas last year that I started making jewellery with clay.  I wanted Christmas-themed charms for my jewellery, and I couldn’t find anything.  I decided to try to make my own, making Christmas trees and stockings, and they turned out pretty good.  I wanted to branch out and do a little more this year.  I made some a few weeks ago, but I don’t have any left, because I sold them all at the market.  I made a few more this week.  Here’s the first one:

Image

I’ve been selling the earrings and hair clips on my card, so hopefully more people with check out the facebook page or this blog.

And here’s a close up:

Image

I wish I would have taken pictures step by step to show you how easy it was to make these.  I can try to explain though.

Step 1: Soften your clay by kneading it and rolling it in your hands.

Step 2: Make the inner bud by taking a small ball of clay, and smoothing it out to an oval shape.  Then wrap to get the rose bud.  Here is where I inserted the head pin for the earring.

Step 3: Continue to wrap petals around the first bud until you have reached the size you want.  Bake according to package directions for approximately 15 minutes.

Once cool, add a crystal (if you wish) to the pin, and make a loop.  Open the loop of the earring, and connect them all together.  Enjoy your new rose earrings!

Leave a Reply

