Easy Afghans

Sorry it’s been so long since my last post!  We’ve been quite busy with the market.  Things have been going well, and I’ve been (literally) cooking up something neat to show you!  I’ll get it finished this afternoon, and will write another post about it.

Anyway, I tend to make a lot of things as gifts.  If I kept everything I crafted for myself, I’d need another house to hold it all.  As is, I almost need another house for my supplies.  But that’s beside the point.  I went back through some old pictures today, and found this one:

Image

When I graduated from my second degree in 2008, I was living with five other girls.  I made them all afghans as graduation presents.  The one on the left, though it is hard to see, is actually a giant white ‘X’ set on a blue background.  X was the symbol for our school, for Xavier.  So here’s the gist of how to make these:

First panel:

Cast on 40st

Row 1: *K2, P2* repeat until you reach the end

Row 2: *P2, K2* repeat until you reach the end

Row 3: *P2, K2* repeat until you reach the end

Row 4: *K2, P2* repeat until you reach the end

You will knit until you reach 64 rows, then you can change colours.  On the first block you will knit straight across, and then pick up on row two with the pattern.  After you knit 5 blocks, you can bind off.  Knit five panels, then sew together, adding a tassel at the bottom if you wish.

Happy knitting!

Leave a Reply

