Brownie Ice Cream Sandwich

When my Today’s Parent magazine came in, it had a recipe for Brownie Ice Cream Sandwiches.  You can check it out here.  It inspired me.  I didn’t actually make that recipe, I did something different, and here’s how it turned out:

Ice cream sandwich made with brownies and mint chocolate ice cream.

I didn’t use the recipe from TP, because I have a great recipe for brownies.  It’s the chewy low-fat recipe from the Joy of Cooking.  I always use that brownie recipe because it makes delicious brownies.  Plus I usually slather them with peanut butter frosting, or cream cheese frosting… or stuff two of them full of ice cream.  It helps with the guilt.

Anyway, if you would like to try these, they are really simple!

Step 1:  Make brownies.  Your favourite recipe, stuff from a box, anything.  This recipe is pretty forgiving.

Step 2: Whatever size you normally use for your brownies, get a bigger pan.  If you make them in an 8″ square pan, use a 9×13.  I made these in a cookie sheet.  What I do with my brownies is I line the pan with foil, and then spray it with baking Pam.  The edges don’t get all hard, and it comes out of the pan so much easier.

Step 3: Lick the batter off of the bowl while you wait for them to cook.

Step 4: Let cool completely.  While you are letting them cool, set some ice cream out to soften.  If you make a single batch, it will take 1pint of ice cream, a double batch will take a whole litre.

Step 5: Cut the brownie in half, and cover one half with the ice cream.  Layer the other piece on top and then put in the freezer for at least a few hours until the ice cream has re-hardened.  Once it freezes again, cut into pieces.  My double batch makes 16 big pieces.  I do refreeze these and sell them at the market, and they taste delicious!  But you can serve them right away, too.  Just don’t let them sit out too long, or they will get all melty!

 

Next up for me is to try these with sugar cookies.  Yum yum!  I’ll inform you of the delicious results.  🙂

Leave a Reply

