Stenciled glass projects and free-hand painting

It all started with an issue of Canadian House and Home.  One of the editor DIY projects was a stenciled table runner.  I thought to myself “that looks nice and easy!”  And then the Martha Stewart stencils and paints were on sale at Michael’s.

That was June, I believe.  And they’ve been sitting in the basement until this weekend.  I finally broke them out, and decided to try them.  Here are the results:

Obviously, the two on the right are stenciled, and the three on the left are done freehand.  And there is a reason why there is no closeup of the candy corn candle holder.  My candy corn isn’t that great yet.  Anyway, here’s a close up of the two that are stenciled:

Once they were done, I actually was pleased with how they turned out.  The stencils worked great once I figured out how to use them.  You adhere them to the surface that you are working on, and then paint.  Peel them off while the paint is still wet.  I used a toothpick to clean up any little bleeding, and it worked pretty good.  I tried re-sticking the stencil, but no dice.  Paint got everywhere.  I needed to wash it, dry it, and then stick it on again.  It is a little time-consuming if you are going to be doing a lot of repeats.  I must say that they stuck to the glass again wonderfully.  I had been a little worried that the stickiness would go, but they were fine.

Then I decided to try a little free-hand painting:

I needed probably at least three layers (if not four) for the orange to be thick enough over the glass.  You can almost see the candy corn in the background, and it does look ok from a distance.  Free-hand was more fun, and a lot less tricky than the stencils, but I need more practice with it.  I haven’t really painted a lot.

Hope you enjoy my candy dishes and candle holders, and try some glass painting yourself!

PS – I hope to make some fall-themed jewellery this week (tonight, fingers crossed), and I’ll show you how that turns out!

Leave a Reply

