Fresh Tomato Soup

There’s nothing like fresh vegetables from the garden.  Especially huge, red, tomatoes.  These tomatoes were really big… almost too big, and really ripe.  I don’t think that I would have put them on a sandwich.

I managed to find myself a little helper for the task of making soup:

And there’s me.  I read the post on keeping Mom in the picture, and I got over it.

Anyway, this soup was really easy, and super tasty.  And as a bonus, I’m throwing in the garlic bread recipe!

Fresh Tomato Soup

  • Tomatoes
  • Broth
  • Italian Seasoning
  • Fresh basil and parsley
  • Pepper

Cut the tomatoes.  I simply quartered them and cut off the stem.  I left the seeds and the skin.  Put all of the ingredients in a pot and cook until the tomatoes are softened.  Notice I did not put quantities.  It does not matter.  Just make sure there is enough broth to cover the tomatoes, and you may need to adjust seasoning to your taste.  Once the tomatoes are softened, and the soup has cooled a little, blend the soup.  There will be little pieces of skin and seeds, and that’s ok.  If you must have soup that’s the consistency of canned soup, by all means strain it, otherwise leave it.  It’s ok!  And delicious!

With regards to the tomatoes, I used really ripe tomatoes, which made the soup almost sweet.  Apparently they use rotten tomatoes for ketchup for extra sweetness.  It’s up to you what you use, but I’d go for riper over greener any day.  Plus, it’s a great way to use them up before the frost hits.

Fresh tomato soup and homemade garlic toast

Fresh tomato soup and homemade garlic toast – Yummy yummy

We had some potato bread from the market, so I decided to turn it into garlic bread.  Hubby said “can you put cheese on it?”  Cheese is my best friend, so I did.  Here’s the recipe for garlic toast:

Garlic Toast

  • Bread
  • Olive Oil
  • Parmesan Cheese
  • Garlic
  • Italian seasoning
  • Cheese (optional)
  1. Set oven to broil.
  2. Mix olive oil, Parmesan cheese, and garlic together.  You’ll want between 2T oil, 2T cheese, 1T garlic, 1t seasoning for four pieces of bread.  Spoon oil mixture onto bread, and cover with grated cheese.
  3. Toast under the broiler until cheese is bubbly.
  4. Enjoy!

*Note* the extra cheese will add extra  oil.  You may want to halve the amount of oil on the bread so it’s not too greasy.

One thought on “Fresh Tomato Soup

Leave a Reply

