Crockpot Apple Crisp

We had thanksgiving dinner at my aunt and uncle’s house.  Their house is in the middle of an apple orchard (in fact, my uncle’s family has an apple u-pick), so whenever we visit in the fall, we go out and get some apples.  Hubs and my darling son went out and played in the orchard and got a few good pics:

I guess maybe there was a little apple sampling going along with the picking (my husband calls it ‘quality control’).  Anyway, I told them that I wanted some Cortland apples to make an apple crisp, and I received some beautiful good-sized apples:

The first thing I did was core them and chop them.  I did not peel them.  Everyone in our house likes apple peels, and hey, they’ve got a lot of nutrients for them, I’m not throwing them out!  Besides, they turn pretty mushy, and you won’t even notice them.  I cut up approximately 6 cups of apples and put them in the bottom of my slow cooker.  And here’s why I saw ‘approximately 6 cups’.  I had someone helping me out there, too.

I then mixed together 2T of cornstarch, 2T of brown sugar, and some cinnamon sugar in with the apples, topping them off with 2T of lemon juice.

I don’t make pie crust very often, so I whipped out my seldom used pastry cutter for this next step.  I mixed 1/2 c of white sugar, 1/2 cup of brown, 1 cup of flour, almost 1t of cinnamon and almost 1t of nutmeg.  By almost, I mean I didn’t quite fill up the full teaspoon.  And then I cut in 1/2c of margarine.  When it’s nice and crumbly, you can put it over top of your apples.

Because crockpot times vary, once the apples are soft, it is almost done.  We cooked ours at low for about 4 hours.  Once the apples are soft, remove the lid for about an hour so the top to crisp up a bit, and then serve with ice cream or whipped cream.

2 thoughts on “Crockpot Apple Crisp

  1. Pingback: It’s a New Year! (And some resolutions, too…) | madebymarly

Leave a Reply

