Make a Tinsel Scarf!

I was at a store this morning, and the sign said “63 days until Christmas!”… but seeing as how today is two months from Christmas Eve, I think it’s actually 61.  Anyway, this means that I am going to start with the Christmas crafts.  I will be selling some things at craft sales starting on November 17th, so I have to get busy.  Anyway, I found this yarn at Michael’s a few weeks ago:

It’s called ‘Festive’ by Loops & Threads, comes in three colours (red, green and silver… maybe more, but all I saw was three), and it looks just like tinsel!  Ah… tinsel… the stuff that you’d cut and wear on your head so you could be an angel in your Christmas pageant.  Or you’d decorate a tree with it… 

However, this stuff is not at all scratchy like real tinsel, it’s actually pretty soft.  And it’s a breeze to crochet, and probably to knit, as well.  I’d recommend using large needles or a crochet hook.  I used a 10mm hook, and I would use at least that for knitting needles.  Here’s my crochet pattern (and please forgive me… I’m not great at patterns):

Tinsel Scarf – use one ball of Festive

Ch 9, skip three ch, and make 1DC each in next 6ch.  Make 3 ch, turn, and DC across.

Does that make sense?  In each row, there is the 3ch that makes 1DC, and then 6 additional DC, to make 7 all together.  This makes a nice long, but thin scarf, so you could wrap it around your neck, or double it and loop it like I did.  Enjoy the tinsel!

Note: for knitting, cast on 6-10 (depending on how thick you’d like your scarf), and knit across each row.

2 thoughts on “Make a Tinsel Scarf!

Leave a Reply

