Happy 2nd Birthday (Cake!)

The little guy will be turning two on Wednesday.  Today is the day of his party.  Here’s how I made his birthday cake:

Using an old family recipe for chocolate cake, I made a cake in my half-sheet pan.  This chocolate cake recipe is my grandmother’s, and everyone has it on their birthday.

I mixed up some frosting using Martha Stewart’s Swiss Meringue Buttercream recipe.

I divided the frosting, and tinted the first part green, and then started to spread it on the cake.

I used a tooth pick to etch out where I wanted my ‘2’ to be.

I should mention that at this point, the dog was already outside.

The reason being for what she did to his baptism cake a year and a half ago.

She was definitely not the taste tester I had in mind.  Anyway, back to the cake.  I spread black frosting in between my ‘2’ lines, and topped with car gummies that I had found at the bulk barn.

Happy second birthday!

Chocolate Cake Recipe

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/4 c white sugar
  • 1 1/2c flour
  • 1 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 c cocoa
  • 2/3 c oil
  • 1 c sour milk (put 1T of vinegar in a measuring cup, and fill with milk until you reach 1c)
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Combine all ingredients together.  Put in a pan and back at 350° for 35-40min.

**Note** I doubled this recipe for my half-sheet pan.  I also reduced the temp to 325°, and baked for 25 minutes.  The above directions are for a tube pan.

Oh, and in case you were wondering about the case for my cake:

It’s an under-the-bed storage container that hubs found at Home Hardware.  It fits this size of cake perfectly!

2 thoughts on “Happy 2nd Birthday (Cake!)

  1. Marly you forgot that it is 1 table spoon of VINEGAR that you put in the cup and add milk to make sour milk.. Best choc cake ever!!!

Leave a Reply

