Chocolate Cornflake Drop Cookies

I’m not sure if that’s exactly what they’re called, but they’re one of my favourites.  When I was a little girl, my mother used to make them, and then I started making them.  We originally called them ‘Sharon’s Cookies’, because I think Mom got the recipe from someone named Sharon.  Possibly an aunt of mine.  And you don’t bake them, so they’re quick to make!  (And only one pot and spoon get dirty, bonus!)

Chocolate Cornflake Drop Cookies

Anyway, we used to put weird stuff in our baked goods.  I’m going to give you both the original recipe, and then my modified version.

Chocolate Cornflake Drop Cookies (Original Recipe)

  • 1/4 c parowax
  • 1 c chocolate chips
  • 1 c peanut butter
  • 1 c icing sugar
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 4 c corn flakes

Melt parowax and chocolate chips.  When melted, add peanut butter, icing sugar, and salt.  When all well dissolved, stir in corn flakes.  Drop by the spoonful onto waxed paper, and let set (takes about 5 minutes).

Chocolate Cornflake Drop Cookies (Updated Version)

  • 1/4 c chocolate melting wafers
  • 1 c chocolate chips
  • 1 c peanut butter
  • 1 c icing sugar
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 3-4 c corn flakes

Melt chocolate and peanut butter together, and then add icing sugar.  When well dissolved, stir in corn flakes.  Drop by the spoonful onto waxed paper, and let set (takes about 5 minutes).  Yield: 30 cookies this size:

Chocolate Cornflake Drop Cookies

**Notes on the updated version**
I omitted the wax, which makes the cookies shiny and firms them up once they’re set.  Using just chocolate chips makes them not as hard.  I decided to try adding the chocolate melting wafers, because they harden nicely.  And they did turn out shiny!  I might even change it to 1/2 c melting wafers, and 3/4c chocolate chips.
 
So… there are 30 cookies.  Well, 29, because I ate one yesterday when I made them… actually, now there are 28, because I ate another when I took the picture… I may have to make another batch (or two) before Christmas if they’re going to make it to Christmas dinner…
5 thoughts on “Chocolate Cornflake Drop Cookies

  1. Thanks for all your nice comments! And these are one of my favourites at Christmas. I am pleased to report that I didn’t eat all of them before Christmas dinner. There were enough to share…

  2. They were called Sharon’s cookies because your Aunt Sharon Gilbert made them every Christmas and your cousin Craig Fearon always looked forward to getting some!

Leave a Reply

