How to Make a Delicious, Vitamin-Packed Smoothie

Last year I resolved to eat vegetables for two meals a day, in hopes that I would get somewhere close to the recommended 5+ servings of fruit and veggies a day.  As long as I was eating them twice a day, I was.  Before Christmas, I was finishing up my shopping at the mall, and I stopped at my favourite smoothie and wrap place at the mall, and they had a smoothie with kale and spinach in it.  Gross, right?  I decided to try it, because I was feeling a cold coming on, and figured that I needed the vitamins.  And to my surprise, it was tasty!

I couldn’t remember exactly what was in the smoothie, so I couldn’t exactly recreate it at home, but I picked up a bag of baby spinach, and was prepared to experiment at home.  Here’s the first of the experiments:

Smoothie

Hubs saw the remnants of the various types of fruit on the counter and said “You know, you don’t have to put EVERYTHING in.  It doesn’t always taste good.”  But after his first sip, he became a convert.  Here is essentially what I put in the smoothie (I have changed it a few times, and it’s delicious every time!)

Vitamin-Packed Smoothie

  • 1/2 c baby spinach
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1 banana
  • 2 clementines (if you do not like pulpy orange juice, don’t add the oranges… the membranes don’t puree up very well, and you will have pulp)
  • 1/2 c blueberries
  • 1/2 Greek yogourt
  • enough juice or milk to give it a smooth consistence…. usually around 1 cup… I think for this one I put in 1/2 c pomegranate, and 1/2 c milk (depending on your fruit and vegetables you may need to add more or less)
  • 2T of flax seed (optional – flax adds good fat to your smoothie, and also gives it a great fibre boost)

Blend it all in a blender, and you’ve got yourself a delicious smoothie.  It has at least 2 servings of fruit and vegetables, and 1 serving of milk (providing you add both the yogourt and milk).  This mixture made two big glasses full, plus some for the little guy.  He loved it, too.

I plan on experimenting more with vegetables in my smoothies.  I’ll let you know how it goes…

One thought on “How to Make a Delicious, Vitamin-Packed Smoothie

  1. Pingback: Another Sneaky Smoothie Recipe | madebymarly

Leave a Reply

