How to Knit or Crochet a Dishcloth

 

Dishcloth

My grandmother taught me how to knit when I was 7, but I didn’t really learn anything besides straight knitting.  So I made a lot of scarves.  The summer after my second year of university, I worked as a historical tour guide at one of our local museums.  When we had down time, we could work on ‘period appropriate crafts’, so I picked up knitting again.  One of the ladies that worked there gave me a pattern for a dishcloth, and taught me how to do the increases and decreases, and I was set.  After that, I could knit almost anything (once I learned how to purl, of course…).  Here’s the pattern for a basic knit dishcloth:

Cast on 4

Row 1: k

Row 2: k2, yo, k2 (yo stands for yo, you just wrap the yarn around and keep going, it makes an increase)

Row 3 and rest of rows: k2, yo, k to end of row

I like to stop once I hit 50 stitches.  Then you start your decreases:

Row 1 decrease: k1, k2tog, yo, k2tog, k to end of row (k2tog means you knit two stiches together, it makes a decrease)

I continue until I get 5 stitches, then I k one row, and then bind off.  I find that if I go all the way back down to 4st, it makes the end too pointy.  This makes it more rounded.

I used Bernat Handicrafter Cotton for my dish cloths, and 4.00mm knitting needles.  This gives you a dish cloth that won’t stretch to pieces.

I also used this opportunity to crochet a few dish cloths.  I’ve only been crocheting for a few years, and I’m not great at it, so dish cloths are a great way to practice technique: 

IMG_6561

I can’t give you the pattern for the doily one on top, I found it in book put out by Bernat on various dish cloths.  It may be available on their website.  The two in behind are a little easier.  The one of the left is just ch 34, and then sc until you get to 8 inches.  The one on the right is a granny square.

When I first learned to crochet, I had no idea that there was a wrong side.  I made my friend’s daughter a sweater, and thought those lines were supposed to be there.  Oops… this is what the wrong side looks like:

IMG_6562 

And then the right side:

IMG_6563

Leave a Reply

