99 Red Slippers

I didn’t actually make 99.  I made 16 pairs of red, and 3 pairs of green.

Slippers

I did take a picture of all 19 pairs, but it got accidentally deleted, so I just have this one mobile picture of the first two pairs that I made.  I found the pattern on this website.

This post isn’t exactly about slippers, it’s about taking a big project on.  In September, my friend asked me to make these slippers for her wedding in December, and I told her that I’d be glad to.  This brings me to point number 1:

  1. Giving yourself enough time to get a project done or giving the person you’re hiring enough time to get the project done.  You should know what speed that you can work.  You’ve also got to factor in things like taking breaks from your project, and allowing for other things going on in your life.  Sitting down, from start to finish, I could make 1 slipper in 2.5 hours.  So technically, I could do one a day, but with other commitments, I could make about 2 pairs per week.  This meant that I could probably finish in 9 or 10 weeks.  However, with Christmas craft sales, I took most of November off, so I was still knitting right up until the deadline.
  2. Availability of materials.  I used Red Heart Light & Lofty for the yarn.  For the most part, it’s pretty easy to find.  However, there were a few weeks when it was sold out at my local store.  If you can purchase all you need for your project, you should.  I was on a bit of a tight budget, and could only buy a skein or two at a time.
  3. Give yourself a break!  If you’re constantly working on the same thing over and over, you will get bored with it.  Allow yourself to take a break to work on something else so you will still have joy in your project.

In the end, I’m glad that I took it on.  It was very satisfying to hand over a huge bag of slippers to my friend.  Plus, it will probably be a pattern that will be stuck in my head until the end of time… meaning the slippers will probably end up as gifts for others in the future.

Leave a Reply

