Pumpkin Dog Treats

You may have seen a picture floating around facebook of a dog treat recipe.  A few people on my friends list have shared it.  Last fall, while I was making all of my pumpkin recipes (cheesecakes, muffins, pastas, and a pasta sauce, just to name a few…) I meant to make dog treats, but I didn’t get around to it.  While hubs was gone to a meeting tonight, my son and I made “puppy tookies”, as he called them.

Start off with some canned pumpkin (make sure it’s just pureed pumpkin, not pie filling), or real pumpkin if it’s that time of year:

Pumpkin Dog Treats

Add some eggs and stir:

Pumpkin Dog Treats

Next, I added some salt and fresh parsley (don’t worry, dried is fine!)

Pumpkin Dog Treats

Now it’s time for the dry ingredients, powdered milk and flour.  It will form a stiff dough.  Kind of reminded me of biscotti.  Don’t be afraid to get your hands dirty!

Pumpkin Dog Treats

Pumpkin Dog Treats

Once the dough is combined, roll it out to the desired thickness.  We have a big dog, so we rolled it out to about 1/2″, but you can make it thinner if you wish.  Then cut it into shapes.  I found the cookie cutter at the Bulk Barn for 69 cents.

IMG_7065

After they are on the cookie sheet, you can pierce holes in them with a fork if you wish.  Go down about halfway.

IMG_7068

I baked them at 350 for about 18 minutes, flipped them, and then baked for about another 15.  You may need to adjust cooking times depending on the size of your treats.  After they cooled, someone was waiting patiently for her treat!

Pumpkin Dog Treats

Pumpkin Dog Treats

Pumpkin Dog Treats

Verdict: pretty yummy!

Pumpkin Dog Treats

  • 1/2 c canned pumpkin
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1 t dried parsley (although, I put a few handfuls of fresh into my food processor and chopped it up… ended up equaling about 1 T)
  • 2 T dried milk
  • 2 1/2 c flour

1.  Whisk together pumpkin, eggs, salt, and parsley.  Gradually add in the milk and flour, making a stiff dough.

2.  Roll out to desired thickness, and cut cookies.  Put onto cookie sheet (I used parchment paper) and bake at 350 for 15-20 minutes, flip, and then bake for another 15.

3.  Once cooled, let your doggy enjoy!

**Some notes on the ingredients:

I used brown rice flour.  Some dogs have trouble digesting wheat, like humans.  It’s up to you what you want to use, though!

Pumpkin is great for dogs because it can help with their digestion and regularity.  Some dogs eat pumpkin straight out of the can.

Parsley is for the breath.  I haven’t tested it out to see if it has worked yet, though.  I’ll get back to you.

Finally, I think I found the original source for this recipe.  The shared photo on facebook didn’t have a link to the original site, but this one seems to be pretty close to what was posted.

As for the left over pumpkin, because it was a ginormous can… we’ll probably make another batch of dog treats later this week, but in the meantime, I’m going to see what kind of smoothies I can make with pumpkin puree.  Yum!

One thought on “Pumpkin Dog Treats

  1. Pingback: How to Prepare Pumpkin | madebymarly

Leave a Reply

