Clay Handles

I discovered Shay’s Clays last week, and she had a project about putting clay on everything that wasn’t bolted down. Ok, maybe not quite that… But she had made herself a handle for her blade, and I wanted to do the same thing, because what I currently had wasn’t cutting it.

20130905-151820.jpg
Well, maybe it was. My fingers. I used the leftover cane that I had from making beads for my son, and I pressed it down on the dull edge. I used a block of clay to hold it in place.

20130905-151928.jpg
I also made sure that the clay covered the hole I. The blade, just to help secure it. And here’s the finished product!

20130905-152018.jpg

So I wondered what else I could cover with clay… I ended up doing a crochet hook handle, because I’m making some slippers for a friend, and my hand cramped up the other night while I was working with the hook.

20130905-152132.jpg
I was trying to do a Skinner Blend with blue, orange, and white, and it didn’t work out for me. I think my problem was that I was using too little clay. So I just kind of swirled it together, and came up with what you see.

It was a little too much fun using that pasta machine, so I think that another Skinner Blend may be in my future this week…

One thought on “Clay Handles

Leave a Reply

