Sweet Potato and Apple Soup

This soup recipe came in my mailbox the other day, and as soon as I saw it, I knew I wanted to make it. However, things never quite work out exactly as planned, so I had to change it. Mostly because I started it at around 4, not realizing that it was a slow cooker recipe. Anyway, here’s what I did:

First, I took 3 sweet potatoes and pierced them with a fork. I put them in the oven to bake for about 45 minutes at 450. I did them this way because I really, really dislike chopping and peeling them. Then I cut them in half, and scooped the potato out with a spoon into a pot. I added approximately 1 cup of soup stock and 1 cup of apple cider, and put it on to simmer to finish cooking the potatoes.

While the potatoes were simmering, I chopped up 2 apples (I used gala, they were on sale last week). I put them in a frying pan with 1 tbsp of margarine. I added 1 tbsp of ginger, 2 tsp of curry, and 2 tsp of onion powder. I cooked the apples for about 5 minutes on a medium heat, then I added them to the pot. The mixture simmered for about another hour, and then I mixed it all together with my immersible blender. At this point, I added a little more cider, just because I like it creamy.

I also toasted some bread to go along with the soup. I sliced a ciabatta loaf in half, and added someolive oil and parsley, and then cooked it under the broiler in the oven until it toasted.

20130911-204445.jpg

This one got the seal of the approval from my two year old, as well. He especially liked to dip the bread into the soup.

Leave a Reply

