Roasted Cauliflower and Cheddar Soup

My husband and I were talking about cauliflower the other day (I promise you, not all of our conversations are that dull!) and we decided that cauliflower is the pasta equivalent in the vegetable world. Meaning, it’s kind of boring on it’s own, but add cheese or butter and it’s great. That’s kind of what this soup is.

First, I chopped up a head of cauliflower , then I roasted it in the oven for about 25 minutes at 425 with some olive oil, garlic, and Italian seasoning. We had some leftover vegetables from the night before, carrots, broccoli, and potatoes, and I added those to the pan at this point, because they were already cooked. It probably amounted to almost 2 cups of potatoes, and another cup of the mixed vegetables.

Once the vegetables were cooked all the way through, I put them in a pot with a carton of soup stock, and then puréed them. I added 2 cups of old cheddar cheese, ground black pepper, and chives, and heated until warm.

It was definitely tasty! And made at least 6 servings.

20130921-115412.jpg

We did leave the skins on the potatoes. They added a great flavour.

Leave a Reply

