Intention Bracelets

Yesterday I graduated from my yoga teacher training program, and am now a certified yoga instructor. As part of my final project, I wanted to give the other women in my class a gift to symbolize our journey together (you can become pretty close after spending 200 hours together). We had spent a day on the beach together as part of our training, and when I got home, there was sand everywhere. I saved it,many used it in my project.

20131006-155819.jpg

I mixed a small amount of sand in with some clay.

20131006-155905.jpg

I only added enough sand so the clay would be speckled. It wouldn’t hold much more than that. After kneading well, I made long tubes, and cut them so they were about an inch long. I used a toothpick to make the centre hole, and then baked them at 250 for about 10 minutes. After the had cooled, I used a Sharpie (I used the oil-based metallic ones, silver and gold) to write words on them: calm, peace, be, am, air, hope, faith, joy, etc, and then made them into a bracelet with hemp.

20131006-160154.jpg

When I come to my mat, setting my intention for the practice is one of the hardest things that I do. Hopefully, my ‘peace’ bracelet will help me focus the next time.

One thought on “Intention Bracelets

Leave a Reply

