Cotton Baby Toys

My three month is starting to pick up things, and they’re immediately going to his mouth. I wanted to make him something to chew on, and would also absorb some of the drool he’s been spouting, as well.

I don’t know if you’ve noticed the beautiful colours that are available in cotton yarns. I’ve bought skeins here and there for dishcloths, but I knew there had to be another purpose. I’m also working on some baby socks made in the cotton, as well. I’ll share them when I get them finished.

20131027-095834.jpg

Here’s the pattern. You’ll need a 5mm hook, cotton yarn (you can make two toys with on of the little skeins) and something to crochet on, a teething ring, a chain link, whatever drives your fancy. Note: if you use a wooden tether, you’ll have it take it once they get teeth and can make dents in the wood. I used a BPA-free plastic toy. Also, you can wash these in the washing machine! I put them in a garment bag to keep them from getting beat around too much.  Here’s the type of links that I used:

20131027-095823.jpg

Make a slip knot on the ring.

20131027-095844.jpg

Ch 3. Make 1 hdc around the ring, ch 1. Make 7 more hdc around the ring with 1ch after each one. Make 1 last hdc. All together you’ll have 19 st.

20131027-095854.jpg

For the next 8 rows, put 2hdc in the first st, hdc until the last, and then put 2hdc in the last st. Each row will have an increase of 2 hdc, one on each end.

For the next three rows, make 2 hdc decreases, then hdc across to the last 4 st, and make two more hdc decreases. Finish off and weave in ends. Find a baby to give it a chew, and enjoy!

20131026-205641.jpg

Jack was already in bed by the time I got around to finishing this, but hopefully I’ll get a picture of him with his new toy tomorrow to share with you!

*Edited on October 27 to add more pictures.

One thought on “Cotton Baby Toys

Leave a Reply

