Homemade Iced Tea Recipe

You can now purchase large cans of iced tea where I live. They hold a little more than a 591mL bottle. My aunt, who watches her sugar, bought a couple of cans and brought them home. She then noticed how many calories and sugar were in them (it was a lot, something like 26g of sugar). So here’s a recipe for a sugar-free iced tea. If you do like it sweetened, honey or agave nectar can be added.

The first thing you’re going to do is to boil some water like you would normally do. I boiled about 4 cups of water. I then poured it over 4 tea bags, and I let it steep for at least 5 minutes. Try out different flavours of tea and see what you like. I’ve done passion fruit green tea, mint tea, and this morning I made lemon ginger. Remove the tea bags and pour into the pitcher that you’re going to use.

20140811-172517.jpg

If you’d like to sweeten your tea, this is where you add the sugar. You want to sweeten it while it’s hot so the sugar dissolves. Next, add an equal amount of cold water.

20140811-172618.jpg

Let it cool completely in the fridge. This final step is optional, but I like to pour my tea over ice until the glass is about 3/4 full, and then I top it off with club soda. Club soda is sugar free, but it adds some nice bubbles to your tea.

20140811-172732.jpg

Now you can sit back, and enjoy your cool treat. Let me know if you think up some yummy flavour combinations. My husband makes a delicious one with orange pekoe tea and orange juice that definitely hits the spot. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

